Which countries have 5G?

The rollout of 5G across the UK has been a hot topic of debate since kicking off last year.

The introduction of the high-speed wireless technology has triggered controversies ranging from the role of Chinese firm Huawei in providing the infrastructure for the UK’s networks, to the spread of discredited conspiracy theories about links with the coronavirus pandemic.
The first networks to launch 5G in the UK were EE and Vodafone, followed soon after by O2, according to TechRadar. BT Mobile, Sky Mobile, and Three now also have 5G networks, but the technology has yet to reach all regions of the nation.
Despite the various controversies linked to 5G, the technology is spreading rapidly across the world. A report published by California-based network testing company Viavi Solutions in February stated that 5G was at least partially available in 378 cities in a total of 34 countries.
Here is the full Viavi list:
  • Austria
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Monaco
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • UK
North and South America
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • US
  • Uruguay
Middle East and Africa
  • Bahrain
  • Kuwait
  • Lesotho
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Africa
  • UAE
Asia and Oceania
  • Australia
  • China
  • Maldives
  • New Zealand
  • South Korea
Three other countries have also begun rolling out 5G networks since February: Canada, Hong Kong and Thailand


No comments

Leave Your Comment